Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In honor of the Naturally Charlie blog tour, the very lovely S.L. Scott had a few words to say:

In my new novel, Naturally, Charlie, music played a pivotal role in the creation and development of the story. Music inspires my creativity, twists my emotions, and helps guide the characters along their journey.

Through music, whether with words or an instrumental piece, I can direct my energies into the right feeling I’m going for in a particular part I’m writing. There are so many happy, fun, and light-hearted moments throughout the book that I steer clear from darker themed music when I’m writing those. The last thing to listen to would be angsty Agnes Obel when I’m writing how playful the two Charlies are together. Love, Save the Empty by Erin McCarley works much better with its catchy melody for a scene like that. I feel like Rufus Wainwright’s song, Sometimes You Need, is where the two Charlies are mentally at the beginning of the story. The words and vibe just feels like them before they meet.

Michael Kiwanuka’s, Home, fits this one part so perfectly, but I won’t spoil it for you. I can hear Youngblood Hawke’s, We Come Running, in my head during a scene that involves them near a bookstore. These Times by SafetySuit seems to work for the overall story.

Bleriana made an amazing video inspired by Naturally, Charlie, and what I love the most about it is that she related it to her own life. The song she chose is enriched in the video through photos and images because of the music that highlights those elements. It’s a beautiful song and an incredible video. I was so honored she made one for me and my novel. Thank you, Bleriana.

Also, thank you for having me as a guest on The Cold Shower today, too.

[Bleriana side note: Thank you Suzie!!]

SUMMARY

Twenty-five year old Charlotte Charlie Barrow is caught between her old life, and the one she is beginning to build, when she crosses paths with a handsome stranger on the subway. Not looking for romance, she closes her heart off to the possibilities of love. With a knack for mishaps, Charlie maintains her sense of humor while befriending the kind stranger who seems to
be there at all the right times.

New York freelance writer, Charlie Adams, is forging his own path beyond the expectations of the society circles of his childhood. Rejecting family money, and fast-lane friends, he is snubbed by his family as he follows his own compass to a life more extraordinary.

Their chemistry is palpable as they balance precariously on the line that divides them as friends or more.

VIDEO FOR NATURALLY, CHARLIE BY S.L. SCOTT!

http://animoto.com/play/oCkMN8X5jgi80U3sPCbKPA

STALK S.L. SCOTT’S WEBSITE

FOLLOW S.L. SCOTT ON TWITTER

PREORDER NATURALLY, CHARLIE

Get it NOW!

