Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

To my defense: It’s still Sunday somewhere in the world. I hope.

A few days ago I stumbled onto something on Facebook that might lead to exessive abscence from the fandom.

Ok that might be a bit crass and exaggerated.

On the other hand: You know me. What happens when I’m really into a story? Yupp, I don’t eat nor do I sleep nor do I do anything that would drag me away from finishing it.

Remember the many times I stayed up until 6 am to finish a book or fanfic or anything else to read? Sleep deprivation sucks, but at least it was for a good cause.

Looks like these series is going to cause me a lot of sleepless nights.

http://hollywoodcrush.mtv.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/shatterme.jpg>>Tahereh Mafi is a girl. She’s 24. She writes books and reads books and drinks way too much coffee. SHATTER ME is her first novel, and the first of a trilogy, coming from Harper/HarperCollins on November 15, 2011. Film rights have been optioned by 20th Century Fox.<<

So far so good, but what got me interested in this book.

First of all, it was suggested by a fellow angel (I don’t remember whom anymore, but thank you, thank you, thank you!) so it has to be good *duh*. =P

Second of all, how can a book with a summary like this even be bad?

>> Juliette has the power to kill with a single touch and the power to save her shattered world. THE HUNGER GAMES meets THE X-MEN in the first book of this riveting dystopian trilogy by debut author Tahereh Mafi.

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days. The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things. So they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now. Juliette has a choice to make: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior. <<

Third of all, how can a book with a trailer like this even be bad?

Fourth of all, the name sounded very… how should I say this? Unamerican? I hope I’m not offending anyone by saying this. So I did some research. Sadly, there is not much information about the author as a person, which -I must admit- saddens me a bit. (Hey I can rhyme!). What is VERY evident though, is the scarf around her head and the way her body is always covered with fabric.

Now here comes my theory -which I could be very wrong about of course- Tahereh Mafi is a Muslim woman. And for some odd reason that makes me sympathize her. Maybe because that would mean she’d be the first author (whose work I’ve read) to share my religious view. *shrugs* I’m weird, but you already knew that.

The german version of Shatter me is coming out in a few days, but considering the fact that I’m trying my own hand at writing right now, I might still go for the english Version. And once I’m done with book one, there’s still Destroy me to keep me afloat until Unravel Me comes out.

So who of you has read the book already or is planning to?

Sleep is overrated,

