Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

*runs into TCS-Universe*

OMG YOU H00RS!

I know I promised you a special post this Sinday but something got in the way.

Yesterday night I made the decision to

A] Reread Cherry.Blossomz‘ “With the Lights Out” because it’s finally COMPLETE and I can read without worrying about cliffhangers

and

B] Reread some smutalicious goodness by EdwardsBloodType because I could read and reread her stuff forever without getting tired of it.

So I get ready to start readin’ and open my bookmark thingy to search for some music to listen to and KABOOM! for some reason my eyes fly to a bookmark I’ve had there for… well a while. Thinking back to that moment now, I think it must’ve been fate.

I click on it, just out of curiosity (after all I must’ve had a reason for putting it in my bookmarks) and am reminded of the fact that I’ve wanted to read this story for quite a while now but just didn’t have the time to.

Spontaniously I decided to give it a go that night. I mean the eBook is so cheap only for free would be cheaper so why not give it a shot?

Turns out it was the best investment I made in a while…

I have to admit that the first thing that drew me in about the book was it’s cover, and I know how wrong it is because “You shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover” but I just have a thing for beautiful artwork mk? Not my fault…

Just look at the cover yourself and tell me it’s not pretty, I dare you! Don’t you just feel like you HAVE TO HAVE this book without even reading the description yet?

*looks from side to side* I didn’t even mention what book I was talking about all this time, did I?

What can I say? BEAUTIFUL DISASTER by Jamie McGuire got me a bit too overexcited to think straight…

Second thing that drew me in was the Description. I love when a books description starts with: **For mature readers. Contains sexual situations and strong language** ya know?

The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate percentage of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend America, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs–and wants–to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the charming college co-ed. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his charms, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’ apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

Already in the excerpt, the story captivated me with its incredibly intense narrative style. And that’s the one word I’d use to describe the whole book aswell, INTENSE. It also may not be suitable for someone who, admittedly, is looking for a tender love story.

A tattooed badboy. That is all… Well not really; before I start sexobjectifying (is that even a word?) poor Travis, lemme tell you that this book is sooooooooooooo much more than sexual situations.

Once you start reading you can’t stop. Like you CAN’T. I was literally awake until 7 am reading until I HAD TO take a nap because my brain refused cooperating.

It’s one of those books that you’ll want to read over and over again [and that coming from someone who RARELY reads a book even just twice is a pretty big deal].

Besides sleep, Jamie also owes me at least one pack of tissues. I went through every emotion one can possibly think of: love, hate, sadness, angst, hope. I even FELT a pain in my chest at all the heartbreaking moments!

And especially frustration. Of the sexual kind nonetheless. The UST KILLED me! Idk how many times I was yelling “OMG FINALLY DO IT ALREADY!!” in my head… =P

Something I found special: the whole plot unfolds almost continuously in dialogue and action scenes; which only serves to make it more vivid imho.

The story is both emotional as well as nerve-wrekingly exciting until the end. I’ll even go as far as saying that I loved the book so much I would really like to see it made into a movie. *nods lots*

Blair and Chuck have nothing on Abby and Trav,

BUY BEAUTIFUL DISASTER ON AMAZON:
http://www.amazon.com/Beautiful-Disaster-ebook/dp/B0052VUNHC

JAMIE MCGUIRE’S WEBSITE:
http://www.jamiemcguire.com/

FOLLOW THE AUTHOR ON TWITTER:
https://twitter.com/#!/JamieMcGuire_

